Bordeaux Left Bank

On the Left Bank of Bordeaux, you can find all the First Growth Bordeaux and other 1855 Classified Bordeaux wines of the Medoc, including the Second, Third, Fourth, and Fifth Growths. Over 200 chateaux in the area are classified as Cru Bourgeois, most located in Haut Medoc. Still, some are scattered throughout the region, ranging from slightly above St. Estephe to below Margaux in the south. Additionally, more than 40 chateaux are called Artisan Crus, cooperatives, and countless small, unknown growers in the Left Bank of Bordeaux.

The classification of the Medoc dates back to 1855, when chateaux from the top appellations in the Left Bank, including Margaux, Saint Julien, Pauillac, Saint Estephe, and Chateau Haut Brion from Pessac Léognan, were included in the classification. The first classification of Left Bank Bordeaux producers, classed as Cru Bourgeois, took place in 1932, while Pessac Leognan's classification was finalized in 1959.

Look no further if you're searching for the most outstanding vintages on the Left Bank. These vintages have been thoroughly vetted and are guaranteed to impress even the most discerning connoisseur. Here is a comprehensive list of the top contenders: 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2006, 2005, 2003, 2001, 2000, 1998, 1996, 1995, 1990, 1989, 1988, 1986, 1985, 1982, 1971, 1970, 1966, 1961, 1959, 1955, 1953, 1949, 1948, and 1945.

It's important to note that in the past, only a few vineyards on the Left Bank could produce truly exceptional wines, particularly when looking at older vintages from 1982 and earlier. However, today, it's generally agreed that almost every chateau is making its best wine ever.

1855 Medoc First Growth:

Château Lafite Rothschild Pauillac 

Château Latour Pauillac 

Château Margaux Margaux 

Château Haut-Brion Pessac, Graves (since 1986, Pessac-Léognan)

1855 Medoc Second Growth: 

Château Mouton-Rothschild (elevated to first-growth in 1973) Pauillac 

Château Rauzan-Ségla (Rauzan-Ségla) Margaux 

Château Rauzan-Gassies Margaux 

Château Léoville Las Cases St.-Julien 

Château Léoville Poyferré St.-Julien 

Château Léoville Barton St.-Julien 

Château Durfort-Vivens Margaux 

Château Gruaud-Larose St.-Julien 

Château Lascombes Margaux 

Château Brane-Cantenac Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux) 

Château Pichon-Longueville Baron Pauillac 

Château Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande (Pichon Longueville Lalande) Pauillac 

Château Ducru-Beaucaillou St.-Julien 

Château Cos-d'Estournel St.-Estèphe 

Château Montrose St.-Estèphe

1855 Medoc third Growth:

Château Kirwan Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux) 

Château d'Issan Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux) 

Château Lagrange St.-Julien 

Château Langoa Barton St.-Julien 

Château Giscours Labarde-Margaux (Margaux) 

Château Malescot-St.-Exupéry Margaux 

Château Cantenac-Brown Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux) 

Château Boyd-Cantenac Margaux 

Château Palmer Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux) 

Château La Lagune Ludon (Haut-Médoc) 

Château Desmirail Margaux 

Château Calon-Ségur St.-Estèphe 

Château Ferrière Margaux 

Château Marquis-d'Alesme-Becker Margaux 

1855 Medoc Fourth Growth:

Château St.-Pierre St.-Julien 

Château Talbot St.-Julien 

Château Branaire-Ducru St.-Julien 

Château Duhart-Milon Rothschild Pauillac 

Château Pouget Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux) 

Château La Tour Carnet Saint.-Laurent (Haut-Médoc) 

Château Lafon-Rochet St.-Estèphe 

Château Beychevelle St.-Julien 

Château Prieuré-Lichine Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux) 

Château Marquis de Terme Margaux

1855 Medoc Fifth Growth:

Château Pontet-Canet Pauillac 

Château Batailley Pauillac 

Château Haut-Batailley Pauillac 

Château Grand-Puy-Lacoste Pauillac 

Château Grand-Puy-Ducasse Pauillac 

Château Lynch Bages Pauillac 

Château Lynch-Moussas Pauillac 

Château Dauzac Labarde (Margaux) 

Château Mouton-Baronne-Philippe (Château d'Armailhac after 1989) Pauillac 

Château du Tertre Arsac (Margaux) 

Château Haut-Bages Libéral Pauillac 

Château Pédesclaux Pauillac 

Château Belgrave St.-Laurent (Haut-Médoc) 

Château Camensac (Château de Camensac) St.-Laurent (Haut-Médoc) 

Château Cos Labory St.-Estèphe 

Château Clerc Milon Pauillac 

Château Croizet-Bages Pauillac 

Château Cantemerle Macau (Haut-Médoc)

1855 Sauternes & Barsac: This classification pertains to a delectable sweet white wine that emerged simultaneously with its Medoc & Graves counterpart, adhering to identical standards. 

Classification of Graves: In 1953, at the request of the Syndicat de défense de l’appellation des Graves, the Institut national des appellations d’origine (INAO) established this classification.